Shadow- box table

January 25, 2015

I was asked if I could make a table as display for a ‘flag’,  glass on top, coffee table height.

It would look terrible if I just make a table with four legs box on top- glass -red flag shining through,  I started to look in books for ideas, when my eye felt on low stools with cushions on top, designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

Great that’s it.

I used ash it had a soft roze color in it, it fitted well with the red flag.

astriddegroot

 

The stands are three heavy pieces of ash, cross-slotted together no screws not glued.

astriddegroot

I gave it adjustable feet to make sure it will be stable on any floor.

astriddegroot

astriddegroot

The frame is screwed into inserts on 6 points easy to take apart.

astriddegroot

astriddegroot

For the Finnish I made two mixtures, first  linseed oil /raw tung oil/ urethane varnish semi gloss, add that four times. Than a mixture of linseed/ raw tung oil and two hands shredded bees wax warmed up.  Very very nice that is what Sam Maloof  uses on his beautiful chairs.

astriddegroot

astriddegroot

Leave a Reply

