Queen Anne table legs

August 3, 2011

The legs are too short. I am going to try make longer ones, but I don’t know how to do this really

I decided to use beech (reclaimed) as it is a good wood for legs and for turning. After making some full size drawings I started to turn the beech on the lathe, keeping the outer shapes

Next step was on the bandsaw. I roughshaped the legs by cutting pieces off – good fun!

I ended up with these four which are almost the same shape now. That was one of my main objectives. In this photo I turned them each on to different sides

Then I used the beltsander for finer modelling

Sanding and shaping: bandsaw, beltsander, sander and sandpaper

I glued sidepieces on the top sides to make a corner, cut and sanded those with the shape of the legs. I used oak for the frame

I coloured the legs so they fit with the tabletop and added a few layers of shellac

I waxed the top put it all together: …and let’s dance!

Leave a Reply

