Elm Plates

July 22, 2011

I made a couple of plates today. I needed one or two and I found myself making them while I was working on the Queen Anne style  table legs, which are maybe a bit too complicated for me. We’ll see, they have to wait – they won’t walk away, yet!

Glueing holders on to the inside of the plates which are still flat, and starting to turn the back first

After glueing a holder on the back I start turning the inside of the plate. I know this is not the proper way to do this, but this is what my mind figured out. I want to go on a course for this one day because I really like wooden plates and bowls.

With a hack saw I cut the plate from the holder; with the machine turned on I have to watch out to cut it only halfway through

Back, after sanding the holder off. That is the reason I ended on turning the inside – because it is only on the back that I am able to sand the holder off

I used olive oil on the wood, but I will add  a few layers of tung oil which is much better

2 Responses to “Elm Plates”

  1. fpmlegrand Says:

    Zo, borden van iepenhout (Olm).
    Ze lijken mij ook prima te gebruiken om er pannekoeken van te eten.
    In ieder geval, Astrid, smakelijk eten.
    Groetjes Pap.

    Like


Leave a Reply

